JSE Investment Challenge continues to empower young learners with financial literacy

Johannesburg, 21 October 2016 The Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE) has announced the winners of the Investment Challenge, South Africa’s largest financial literacy initiative, aimed at high school learners and university students. The Investment Challenge provides learners and students with an opportunity to explore the world of investing by trading JSE listed shares through a simulated game.

This year’s award ceremony was a fun-filled event and was hosted by David Kau, who is one of South Africa’s most sought-after comedians.

The annual competition, now in its 43rd year, is growing steadily each year and this year, the JSE has seen an increase in three provinces, namely Free State, North West and Limpopo. During 2016, the participation in the schools Investment Challenge increased by 30%, attracting over 12 000 learners from high schools.

“As the JSE, we are committed to educating the youth about investing and the Investment Challenge allows us to achieve this goal. Our aim is to reach as many schools and universities as we possibly can and we are engaging with the Department of Education to include the Investment Challenge as part of the school curriculum,” says Ralph Speirs, CSI Officer for Marketing and Corporate Affairs at the JSE.

Schools Challenge
In the schools challenge, up to R180 000 was up for grabs between the winning school teams, who are as follows:

Income Portfolio:
First place, the Sandisiwe 5 from Sandisiwe High School: Bandile Cwesa, Khanya Bashman, Nolundi Sigam and Sivenathi Madaka; led by Thabo Nkonkoto. 

Second place, Sandisiwe 2 from Sandisiwe High School: Amanda Nyhadu, Siphendule Simanga, Siphosethu Nyembezi and Thimna Sobene; led by Thabo Nkonkoto. 
Third place, Sandisiwe 1 from Sandisiwe High School: Anelisa Sithole, Esinawo Gqomfa, Onike Nondlazi and Palesa Choboza; led by Thabo Nkonkoto. 
Fourth place, Jonk Investors from Modiri Secondary School: Joyce Maseko, Keamogetse Magogo, Keamogetswe Phallane and Noziyo Mkhwanazi; led by Joas Moeletsi.
Fifth place, Team PMG @JSE from Phomolong Secondary School: Nolwandle Ntshangase, Matome Derol Ramputla, Yonela Mpurwana and Michael Sibanda; led by Nelborn Ntsako Makhuvele.

Equity Category:
First place, DSS team from Domino Servite School: Heinrich Marloth, Slindile Mbambo, Bathandwa Mbeje and Loan Pop; led by teacher Jabulile Sibeko. 

Second place, The Super Traders 4.0 from Maritzburg College: Mohamed Asmall, Mayuran Padayachi, Sershin Naiker and Shivar Aheer; led by Nithia Pillay. 
Third place, Impi Investment from Hoërskool DF Malan: Daniel Hugo, Dene Cremen, Juane Cronje and Tiaan Spangenberg; led by Marius Mells. 
Fourth place, Pinnacle Investments from Nizamia Islamic School: Ahmed Joosub, Ikraam Suleman, Zaakir Moosa and Zubair Desai; led by Ebrahim Dudan. 
Fifth place, The Big Time Money Makers from Gansbaai Academia: Andre Lourens, Heinrich van der Merve, Jacques Prins and Llewellyn Davids; led by Wilton Phillips.

Speculator Portfolio:
First place, Alliance Traders from Maritzburg College: Muhammad Essa, Muhammed Ashraf Jooma, Muhammed Husain Kassim and Zafar Moosa; led by Nithia Pillay. 

Second place, PBHS Elon Musketeers from Pretoria Boys High: Conor Davis, Geordie Collaros, Jaden Collaros and Thomas Pearse; led by Jaydon Kelly. 
Third place, Info Tech from Orient Islamic School: Mohammed Makkie Aboobaker, Mohammad Tahir Chaudhary, Zaahid Essop and Moosa Mchunu; led by Haroon Bobat. 
Fourth place, TeamWeGonnaWinDisIdm from St Benedict's College: Alexander Francis, Emilio Coelho, Matthew Loo and Timothy Walters; led by Alice Viljoen. 
Fifth place, Team VLK Investors from Waterfall College: Kuhle Majola, Lwazi Ncube, Sbonokuhle Ngcobo and Vaughan Lacon-Allin; led by Jayne Cansfield.

University Challenge
In the University Challenge, the top three prizes are valued at R60 000, with first place winners getting R25 000 plus an all-expenses paid trip to the Australian Securities Exchange. The contestants in second place receive R20 000 and those in third place, R15 000. 

The winning teams in the University Speculator portfolio are: 
First place, Neverest from Stellenbosch University: Luke Nel and Tonia Schoeman. 

​Second place, The Rising Stars from the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University: Nonkululeko Menziwe, Yanga Mlotha, Thando Mkhomboo and Cuan October. 
Third place, BAG Volkswagen AG from the University of Cape Town: Emma Puggia and Scott Wadeson. 

Registrations for next year’s challenge will open in February 2017. The JSE invites the youth around the country to join the game and flex their investment muscles. To find out more, visit: Schools or University or contact the Investment Challenge coordinators on 011 520 7116/ 7344/ 7168. For further interaction, visit Facebook  and Twitter.

Thabiso Senatla
Hill+Knowlton Strategies
Tel: 011 463 2198

Pheliswa Mayekiso
Johannesburg Stock Exchange
Tel: 011 520 7495

Idris Seedat
Manager CSI
JSE Education Division
Tel   011 520 7168